GWTC Annual Awards

GWTC annually presents eight awards to recognize outstanding accomplishments. Below are descriptions of each award and a list of the past winners.

Runner of the Year (Female and Male)

In naming its Runners of the Year, Gulf Winds Track Club seeks to honor those who, besides achieving outstanding times in the past year at various distances in local, regional, and national events, have served as models for all of us in their competitive spirit, their continuing devotion to the sport, and their support and encouragement of their fellow runners, both individually and as members of Gulf Winds.

2001 – Mary Jean Yon & Clint Watkins

Past recipients

(1978) – Janice Gage & Tim Simpkins, (1979) – Betty Ely & John de Grummond, (1980) – Mae Cleveland & Larry Abele, Jr., (1981 – not awarded), (1982) – Donna Miller & George West, (1983) -Laura Caldwell & Dave Sheffield, (1984) – Barbara Balzer & Rick Miller, (1985) – Patti Sudduth & Felton Wright, (1986) – Janice Hochstein & Jim Joanos, (1987) – Michelle Jernigan & Fleetwood Fesmire, (1988) – Carla Borovicka & Herb Wills, (1989) – Karen MacHarg & Jessie Close, (1990) -Margarete Deckert & Bill Crooks, (1991) – Paula Johnson & David Keen, (1992) – Kathi Ward & Gary Droze, (1993) – Carrie Weyant & Paul Hoover, (1994) – Peggy Simpson & Bill McGuire, (1995) – Jane Johnson & David Yon, (1996) – Nancy Widener & Joyce Lowery (co-winners) & Gary Kenney, (1997) – Julie Clark & Howard Andrews, (1998) – Mae Cleveland & Bill McGuire, (1999) – Sarah Docter-Williams & Tim Unger(2000) – Fran McLean & Greg Waddell..

Community Award

To an organization or individual who over a period of years, through financial or other contributions, has supported running in the community at large.

2001 – Mary Register

Past recipients

Lewis State Bank, Chenoweth Distributing Company, Killearn United Methodist Church, International Paper Company Southlands Experimental Forest, Sunshine Advertising, Joe Beckham, Leon County Sheriff’s Posse, The Audio Video Store, The Mill, Sports Beat, Hooters Restaurant, Dunn Chiropractic, Tallahassee Orthopedic Clinic; International Paper Company Southland Experimental Forest, The Trust for Public Land, Shannon Sullivan (1998); Susie Busch-Transou, (Tri-Eagle Distrubutorship) (1999); Manny Joanos (2000).

Volunteer Award

To a person deemed representative of those club members who contribute hours of time assisting in club activities and who often go unrecognized by the club at large.

2001 – Dawn Brown

Past recipients

Beth Wright, Charles Harshbarger, Betty Winkler, Richard Husband, Robert and Jan Boyd, Joyce Stuart, Melvina MacDonald, Dick Dowdy, Bonnie Benge, Ray Hanlon, Bill Lott/Darren Grant, Bill Lott, Buddy Provost, Ann Kass, Craig Hasty, Jeanne O’Kon, Martha Haynes (1998), Kendria Ellis (1999), Gary & Peg Griffin(2000).

Race Director

In recognition of a GWTC member who has taken a major responsibility in production of quality events, especially those favored by GWTC runners, whether by initiation or direction of the event or by coordination of a major aspect of such event.

2001 – Felton, Bonnie & Jamie Wright

Past recipients

Mike Hochstein, Dave Rogers, Jim and Carolyn Story, Mike Eakin, Lamons and J.D. Warren, David Yon, Daryl Ellison, Joe Dexter, Chris Teaf, Ervin Holiday, Barbara Yonclas, Tony Kronenburg, Pat Bruner, Jeff Doherty, David & Judy Waters, Larry Guinipero/Bill Hillison (1998) , Will Walker (1999), Paul Hiers.

Cleveland-Caldwell Advancement of the Sport

In 1984 GWTC recognized Michael Caldwell’s contribution to the sport with this award for his publication of Racing South Magazine and organization of the Racing South Grand Prix (both now owned by Running Journal). The award was known as the Michael Caldwell Advancement of the Sport Award until 2001 when Rex Cleveland, who served as the editor of the Fleet Foot since 1983, retired. To recognize Rex’s outstanding contribution to the sport and to GWTC, the award was renamed the Cleveland – Caldwell Award. The award is given in recognition of those who make significant contributions to the advancement of the sport, whether through research, education or some other area of expertise.

2001 – John Kalin

Past recipients

Michael Caldwell, Rex Cleveland, Bruce Tuckman, John Hesselbart, Charles Yates, Dot Skofronick, Marilynn Wills, Lamons Warren, Gary Droze, Herb Wills, Don Weber, Gretchen Everhart School, Fred Deckert, Gary Droze, Tim Simpkins, Perry Shaw (1998), Alice and Ernie Sims (1999), David Yon (2000).

Triathlete of the Year

This award will be given to a GWTC triathlete, active in the club, whose love of triathlon is demonstrated not only in competition, but also in commitment, service & inspiration. This award was first given in 1999.

2001 – Bob Keller

Past recipients

Kathy McDaris (1999), Malissa Auker (2000).

GWTC Hall of Fame

Individuals who have brought respect to the Gulf Winds Track Club through their contributions, activities, and running accomplishments, and who have played a major role in shaping the ideals of the club are recognized when inducted into our Hall of Fame.

The GWTC Hall of Fame roster

2001 – David Yon

Andy Burns, Jim Stephens, Janice Gage, Tim Simpkins, Jeff Galloway, Bill McGuire, Richard Henry, Leitch Wright, Mae Cleveland, Bill de Grummond, Mike Eakin, Rex Cleveland, Dot Skofronick, Dave Rogers, Gary Droze, Herb Wills, Gene Opheim, Tim Kelly, Joe Dexter, Charlie Yates (1998), Bill Lott (1999), Tom Perkins (2000).