All Big Bend 2001 Cross Country Team

December 28, 2001

The Tallahassee Democrat named its All-Big Bend Cross Country Team last week. Coaches Gary Droze and Scott Gowan were named the girls and boys Coaches of the Year. Gary led the Maclay girls team to the state title for the fourth time in the last five years. Last year they “settled” for runner up. Droze did not stop there however as his boy won their fourth straight title.

Scott Gowan moved from Port St. Joe to Tallahassee three years ago and has pushed brand new Chiles High School closer to the top each year. He brought a basketful of state titles in track and cross country with him so watch out for one of his teams to reach the summit soon. This year his boys were tops in the cross country district and region meets and third in the 2A state championships.

The top runners in the Big Bend area were dominated by winners of the Chenoweth Athlete of the Year Awards. Zita Magloire was the Chenoweth Fund Track Athlete of the Year in 2001 and was the Democrat’s Cross Country Female Runner of the Year for 2001. She had an outstanding season, running a three mile best time of 17:55 and winning the district and regional meets. Her season ended on a down note though as she was hurt at the state meet and unable to run to her best. The rest of the girls first team included Kara Newell (2000 Chenoweth Fund Cross Country of the Year Runner), Allie Hunter, Christy Forsyth (coached at Bell Vue middle school by Susan Cornwell), Adrianna Piekarewicz, Kristine Isom and Sheryl Rosen.

The Democrat named Ryan Deak top Male Runner. Ryan finished his season with a 15:06 5K race at the Footlocker South Championships. Ryan was undefeated in local races and claimed second place in the 1A state championships. His time there was the tenth fastest of all competitors at the state meet. He was the 2000 Chenoweth Fund Track Athlete of the Year. The other first team Big Bend Runners included: Alex Miletich, Herbie Thiele, Scott Poindexter, Ross McMillan, Caleb Carmichael and Gallagher Dempsey (2001 Chenoweth Fund Cross Country Runner of the Year).

More details and a complete listing including the second and third teams can be found by clicking here.