The 2000 Grand Prix got off to fast start Jan. 2 as Breeda Dennehey-Willis debunked the myths about women being the slower gender by beating the rest of the field, including all of the men, by over a minute. Breeda’s first place time of 34:31 bested men’s winner Tim Unger’s time of 35:53. Tim made a good start at defending his 1999 Grand Prix title by beating Tim Simpkins for the top male spot. Tim took the top masters spot for the men with a 36:15, while Mary Jean Yon won the honor for the women, running 45:21.

Temperatures were on the warm side for the first Grand Prix event of the year 2000, but the day was gorgeous. The hills on the Bridge kept times on the slow side, but there was not much wind. There was plenty of food and fun afterwards, however. The race raised money for the Apalachicola High Track Program. Thanks to Hobson Fulmer for putting on another good event.

Click for complete results and for a photo of post race festivities.