David Yon


That’s The Tallahassee Democrat Nonprofit Volunteer Organization of the Year award, not basketball! Tommy Atkinson nominated GWTC on behalf of Gretchen Everhart School. GWTC was one of four finalists for this award.

Other finalists are Leon County Volunteer Firefighters, Senior Companion volunteers of Elder Care Services and the Tallahassee Memorial Healthcare Auxiliary. At least one club member, Phil Yon, was nominated for an individual award under the Social Services category. A total of 216 organizations or people were nominated for eight different categories.

There will be a special story in the Democrat on about the finalists on April 9, 2000 and the awards dinner will be held April 13th at the Leon County Civic Center. Governor Jeb Bush is listed as the keynote speaker.

The Democrat will award $500 to the winner of each category for the charity of their choice.