Bowlegs starts the 2006 GP season

By David Yon

Later the evening of January 14, GWTC would recognize the 2005 Grand Prix winners, but on Saturday morning, Fred Deckert patiently reminded runners that if they wanted to participate in the 2006 competition they must renew their GWTC membership. What have you done for me lately? The good news is he was having success and a good group of runners kicked of their 2006 racing campaign with a well organized Bowlegs 5K making its first appearance on the Grand Prix circuit since 2001.

Shawn Patterson led one of the largest crowds ever at this race into blustery winds that turned the moderate 40 degree temperatures into a very cold morning. Patterson had a big lead before the first right hand turn and held on for victory margin of more than one minute when he finished in a time of 16:43. Carlos Nordhielm was second and first master with a time of 17:52. On the women’s side Stephanie Liles continued her strong improvement capturing the women’s title with a time of 19:22. Allison Eagen kept the pressure on by finishing in 19:42. Julie Clark was the first master with a time of 21:38.

The race, under the direction of Bill Hillison and Larry Giunipero, begins at the FSU/FAMU engineering building in Innovation Park and has the advantage of a course that is virtually traffic free. The proceeds of the race help provide a scholarship each year to a “non-traditional” student at FSU.