By David Yon


A record turnout, a masters record, lots of young runners, plenty of pancakes and lots of fun. Yes, the mile is unforgiving and runners have no place to hide, but time and again you could hear the fun and awe in the participant’s reactions. So, what makes an event like this a success? How about consistency in leadership? The Breakfast on the Track Mile has only had one race director. Well, I mean one set of race directors. Felton, Bonnie and Jamie Wright gave birth to this event in 1998 and seven years later they are still at it and, thank goodness, talking about next year. Since Jamie is eleven, that is pretty impressive on his part.

Lee Willis grabbed his third title in this event and now owns three of the five fastest times ever winning in a time of 4:32.40. Ryan “Hicham el” Deak owns the record when he won the mile in 2001 at the age of 16 in 4:21.47. Sarah Docter-Williams own the women’s record and this year she grabbed the masters record as well, winning the overall title with a time of 5:11.72. Sarah now owns the top four times in this event with a best of 5:02.28. Brennon Clayton pushed Lee and finished second in 4:34.43. Andrew Wills continued his torrid return to the top of the running world by finishing third in 4:42.44. Gary Droze was the master champ running 4:48.49. On the women’s side Adrianna Piekarewicz, grabbed the second spot with a time of 5:27.25. Kate Remillard took third with a 5:30.17.

Other outstanding performances included, Seeley Lovett who ran 5:32.85, Rex Cleveland who took the 60 and up group (he is 65) with a 6:33.91, and the grand masters winners, Bill McGuire and Nancy Wiedner who ran 5:10.77 and 6:56.25. Not bad for 57 and 55 year olds.

Longevity and consistency, not bad traits to make an event and a group special.

Complete results.