The first annual Rattlesnake Roundup 5k Run and Scout Stroll got off to a cold start Feb. 1 with freezing temperatures but no rain as had been forecast. Fifty participants arrived to take part in this benefit for Boy Scout Troop 383. Twenty paid entrants, mostly from out of town, were unable to attend.

Tallahassee speedsters took 1st and 2nd place in the run with impressive style. The 5k Run was won by Paul Hoover from Tallahassee, Fla , a member of Gulf Winds Track Club. His winning time was 17:31. Mike Sims came in with a time of 18:24 for a strong second place finish. Cairo’s Tad David completed the run in 19:55 to garner 3rd place honors. The first woman to complete the run was Cairo’s own Mary Chason with a winning time of 24:31.

The first registered scout award was won by Sean Cummings, age 15, with a finish time of 21:20. He was presented the Richard “Dit” Hester Award by Mary Hester Chason, daughter of Mr. Dit. Deena Harrell shared with the athletes and their families the involvement of Mr. Dit in the original Roundup Run years ago, his commitment to the community and it’s youth, and his love of running. Sean is a member of Troop 383 in Whigham.

The masters division was kept all in the family when twin brothers Jack and John White took 1st and 2nd places respectively. Mark Phillips of Cairo won the 40-49 age group with Elbert Hurst of Thomasville taking second. Bruce Hall from Ashford, Alabama won the 30-39 age group with Cairo’s own Scott Myers finishing second. Freddrick Willis of Cairo won the 20-29 age group with the Thunderbird District’s own District Executive Jonathan Runge placing second. Jonathan is the district contact and coordinator of all scouting activity in our area and has worked diligently on our behalf to help promote scouting in our area.

Sean Cummings of Cairo won the 13-19 age group with Ashley Kieffer of Thomasville placing second. Brandon Groves of Whigham won the 7 – 12 age group with Kevin Shepherd pulling in a close second. Brandon is a scout with Troop 383 and was our local and district Cub Scout of the Year for 1999. Kevin is a Wolf Cub with Cub Scout Pack 383 in Whigham.

The 1st Annual Rattlesnake Roundup 5k Scout Stroll was a hometown event with the top three walkers all being from Whigham. Robert Shepherd, 12, won the Scout Stroll with a finish time of 40:17. He also won the Richard “Dit” Hester award for the first registered scout to finish the walk. Robert is a Boy Scout with troop 383 in Whigham. Athalena Maxwell, 25, took second place honors with a finish time of 40:24 along with the award for the first female overall. Cuy Harrell IV, age 9, placed third overall with a time of 40:39. Cuy is a Webelo scout with Cub Scout Pack 383 in Whigham.

Master’s division was won by Martha (Marty) Williams of Marietta, Ga. with Louis Lockhart of Montgomery, Ala. winning second. Denver Hooten from Albany, Ga won the 40-49 age category with Hilda Lockhart of Montgomery Ala close on her heels. Cairo’s own Laura Register led the 30-39 age category with Tammy Fincannon taking second place honors. Kelli Vaughn of Cairo won the 20-29 age group with Robin Maxwell of Whigham placing second. Jessica Lescoe of Athens, Ga. took the 13-19 age group honors with Cassie Sullivan of Whigham placing a close second. The Register family added to the trophy collection when sisters Anna and Ellen Register swept the 7-12 age category with Anna taking 1st and Ellen winning second place honors. Cage Cox, age 19 months from Norcross, Ga., won 1st place in the 6 and under age group. Cage, grandson of Demetrius and Jet Cox of Whigham, added a light-hearted finish to the event by walking everywhere except across the finish line.

Runners and walkers were treated to a complementary massage by massage therapists Lynn Schulz of Cairo and Debra Adams of Bainbridge.

The event was sponsored by the Whigham Community Club, Grady General Hospital, Runner’s World Magazine, Pine Bluff Farm, and First National Bank of Grady County. Volunteers who braved the cold to help make this event a success were Susan Braswell, Joey Cannon, Patricia Cannon, Betty Chastain, Helen Cox, Jimmy Cox, Tammy Fincannon, Joe Groves, Teresa Groves, Deena Harrell, Charlene Hensley, Cathy Shepherd, Travis Shepherd, Heather Stevens, Judy Sullivan, and Boy Scouts Douglas Harrell, Simon Moody, Aaron Vickers. Grady Co. Sheriff W.R. ‘Snooks’ Green provided escort for the lead runner with Whigham Police Officer Steve Groover providing protection at the end of the race. Grady Co. EMT’s Lonnie Bass and Michael Donelli provided emergency medical coverage which thankfully was not needed.

This event kicks off a fund raising drive to raise funds to build a permanent scout facility in Whigham. The Whigham Community Club sponsors Boy Scout Troop 383.

Click for complete results.